Embedding a mutator

Post Reply
gopostal
BANNED
Posts: 811
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Coos Bay Oregon

Embedding a mutator

Post by gopostal »

Would someone mind explaining to me or post a link to a tutorial that explains how to embed a mutator into a map? I would like a couple of particular mutators to load with a given map without having to put them on a server. I can combine them code-wise but I stll don't know the proper way to add them into the map file itself.

Thanks guys!
[b]BANNED FOR LIFE[/b]

TheDane
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:54 pm
Contact:

Post by TheDane »

in the command line in the editor you type the same load object function as you would do if importing something into a package, just set the name to the mutators name and the destination to mylevel. Try that and see if it works, i did it once and it worked fine for me :) .... ping me if it doesn't work and i'll see if i can find the exact line of text somewhere in my backups.

Added after 12 minutes:

oh ... forgot some important notes.

If the mutator are visible in the actor tree then it's imported correct. Now in order to embed it you need to place the actual mutator in the map as if it was just another pickup or pathnode, if it's a weapon you might want to place it somewhere that doesn't affect the gameplay, if it's a replacement mutator be sure it's the replacement mutator you place and not the weapon itself. Now that's done you need to <rebuild all> and save, just as when adding textures to mylevel.

gopostal
BANNED
Posts: 811
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Coos Bay Oregon

Post by gopostal »

Thanks D! I had thought it would be that type of function. I'll probably get to it this weekend, so I'll let you know if it works OK.
[b]BANNED FOR LIFE[/b]

User avatar
Alucard
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:51 pm
Location: London

Post by Alucard »

Even if you do it that way it won't be active. Activating it needs a custom actor with this sort of code:

Code: Select all

//=============================================================================
// MutatorApplier. Written by Titled for the map MH-Rise of evil
//=============================================================================
class MutatorApplier expands Triggers;

var() class<Mutator> MutatorClass;

function PostBeginPlay()
{
	Local Mutator MyMutator;
	MyMutator = Spawn(MutatorClass);
	MyMutator.NextMutator = Level.game.Basemutator;
	Level.game.BaseMutator = MyMutator;
	Level.game.DamageMutator = MyMutator;
}
Make sure that the mutator actor is placed somewhere in the level though
Speaking of Code, Postal how are the robots doing? :P
[img]http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/6645/seralsigep4.jpg[/img]
[img]http://fc07.deviantart.com/fs36/f/2008/263/3/e/Derideal_Fanstamp_by_Flammenwolf.jpg[/img]
Alucard supports [url=http://www.derideal.com]derideal[/url]

TheDane
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:54 pm
Contact:

Post by TheDane »

oh? Well, in that case the MH mod is messed up good.

gopostal
BANNED
Posts: 811
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Coos Bay Oregon

Post by gopostal »

Thanks Al. I had assumed a bit of call code would be needed somewhere and honestly I thought that was what Dane was hinting at.

Man I gotta get those robots done, don't I? It's on my list, I swear. Think I'll lock myself in my room this weekend and tidy up a bunch of things.
[b]BANNED FOR LIFE[/b]

User avatar
Alucard
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:51 pm
Location: London

Post by Alucard »

No problem, Anytime. and thank you very much ;)
[img]http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/6645/seralsigep4.jpg[/img]
[img]http://fc07.deviantart.com/fs36/f/2008/263/3/e/Derideal_Fanstamp_by_Flammenwolf.jpg[/img]
Alucard supports [url=http://www.derideal.com]derideal[/url]

Post Reply