Page 1 of 4

GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:54 pm
by Hook
GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Yet another master server leaves UT99 May 31, 2014 ...
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/2147 ... is_May.php

GameSpy is all that was left I think. (the last master server)
GameSpy is actually the only Master Server that really works with the UT browser - try it, or read about it at links above.
Nelsona tested and tested and found that GameSpy is actually the only one that really works with the UT browser.

Now, we will have 333Networks! :) (and possibly others will use 333Net's coding?)

So all is not lost!
Read More GOOD News here...
http://hooksutplace.freeforums.org/333n ... m-f87.html

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:40 pm
by Skillz
According to Flak at Epic Games there will be an in house solution to this. Though she does not specify Unreal Tournament or Unreal Tournament 2004. I am fairly confident they'll do something.

With that being said, I am going to attempt to work with the owner of 333networks to see about getting a master server hosted here at ut-files.com. I read on another forum that his master server is running in someone's attic. Therefore, I'd like to get a more permanent solution setup. I have the resources, so hopefully we can make this happen.

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:43 pm
by Hook
Skillz wrote:According to Flak at Epic Games there will be an in house solution to this. Though she does not specify Unreal Tournament or Unreal Tournament 2004. I am fairly confident they'll do something.

With that being said, I am going to attempt to work with the owner of 333networks to see about getting a master server hosted here at ut-files.com. I read on another forum that his master server is running in someone's attic. Therefore, I'd like to get a more permanent solution setup. I have the resources, so hopefully we can make this happen.
His (Darkelarious and 333Networks) MAIN posting and discussions for his work is here - Yes, get involved...
LINK: :bigthumb: http://hooksutplace.freeforums.org/333n ... m-f87.html
(he wants to keep it in one spot - not surprising)

I hope you are right about EPIC. :boink:
There is some news from them at the link above also, but I have not read it yet. :meh:

Basically, from what I understand, 333 has it working pretty darn good, but it still needs some polishing maybe - maybe not.

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:10 pm
by DLD-RABBIT
I hope Epic doesn't leave UT99 high and dry, If they do 333Networks is one solution. If they can handle the full load :meh: We better start thinking outside the box on this. :wiggle:
Jim DLD-RABBIT

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:00 pm
by Skillz
It's in the works.

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:54 pm
by Red_Fist
I thought for sure in Quake 1 there was no server and we had to use pingtool that just went out over the net searching for ports or something like that. There was another program I used but pingtool came along later.

As a matter of fact the other program I used for Quake was QuakeSpy, and either that guy sold the program but it turned into gamespy, when it became gamespy is when I had to use pingtool.

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:16 pm
by Hook
Now that is interesting - Dark, did you see this?

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:37 pm
by Dr.Flay
Does Quake not use Qtracker ?

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:06 am
by Red_Fist
Never heard of that, Quake 1 must have had a game server, when DOS and 56k modem became to slow, the other clients came about. ie quakeworld, we all used Quakeworld client - GL quake.

The server "finders" where a separate program. not inside Quake game.

Re: GameSpy is going down :( ... (UT Master Server)

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:28 pm
by Hook
Hmmmm, might be something or some info from it that Darkelarious may be able to use for 333Networks? :dunno:

One thing - qtracker and (what's that other "fragged" address?) Both Require additional separate Software to view the server lists. :meh:
FYI!