Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

DLD-RABBIT
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Eden, North Carolina
Contact:

Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by DLD-RABBIT »

We have had a few issues with clients saying Windows 8 does not play well with UT99.
Any one had issues? :meh:

:blue:
Jim DLD-RABBIT

Skillz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:59 am
Contact:

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by Skillz »

I haven't used Windows 8, but what kind of issues are they having?
Like this site? Consider a donation to help with server costs.

medor
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:05 am

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by medor »

It work fine . The only problem may be with multicore hardware but no with win 8

DLD-RABBIT
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Eden, North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by DLD-RABBIT »

Sorry about that...They are reporting the following:
Game freezing up, and rendering issues is what they have reported to us. I use Vista, XP, and a few guys are playing Windows 7 with no issues. :wiggle:

:boink:
Jim DLD-RABBIT

-=V@STV$T=-
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:17 am

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by -=V@STV$T=- »

DLD-RABBIT wrote:We have had a few issues with clients saying Windows 8 does not play well with UT99.
Any one had issues? :meh:

:blue:
Jim DLD-RABBIT
Hello, UT99 was officially made for the older windows 98 i belive, it showed that it runned ok in win 2000 and XP and everything close to it, though i played alot of old demos and the best thing u can do before installing a game or program is to make sure u set The compability mode to windows xp sp2 i belive this is the best option for clients, some admins in past reported that running a deticated server in windows 98 mode was fine to.
Furthermore about the cores, i belive UT99 is made to run on one core only alot time happen that it runs ok for a long time on two core sometimes fast but its posible that it will go wrong and than u will need to install an cpu core program, in linux u can do it with commands or simple settings also and in windows u need to install program like cpu control though some bios also have these settings to put off and run one core only.
I hope this was helpfull to u guys cya arround sometime.

How to do this mode setting, rightclick on the file disblock than rightclick again in properties set compability mode to windows xp sp2, for admins deticated server windows set it to win 98SE and for batchfile u can set it 98 or lower.

Hook
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:07 pm
Location: Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by Hook »

Yeah, I use Win7 - UT99 worked right out of the box - as is!
This is the best UT99 install I have had to be honest - Win7
Even works well with wide screen 1080 HD
= Hook = Member# 5
SITE / FORUMS: http://hooksutplace.freeforums.net
UT99 PRO-Redeemer Server - CROSSBONES MISSILE MADNESS {CMM}
PRO-SNIPER-Redeemers | PRO-Redeemers | PRO-SEEKER-Redeemer | + FOOD FIGHT w/Fry Pan Arena
IP: 68.232.181.236:7777

akilles
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:42 am

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by akilles »

It froze for me so I changed to win 7

DLD-RABBIT
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Eden, North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by DLD-RABBIT »

Also with demo v348 it will only play with 3/4 window. I do not use win 8, so at this time i can not do any tests.

medor
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:05 am

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by medor »

Generally lack a dll file for windows 7 and 8.

MSVCR71.DLL missing. http://unrealtournament.99.free.fr/foru ... =11&t=2686

chamberly
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:04 am
Location: TN, USA

Re: Any issues with Windows 8 and UT99

Post by chamberly »

Medor, I don't know what's up with that file but I have win 7 and it run just fine. That file is probably for adobe and java. I've ran UT99 on a fresh install of win 7 without adding anything on, it works just fine.

Post Reply