display problems

General Monster Hunt talk
Kaal979
Steals others work
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Contact:

display problems

Post by Kaal979 »

Im playing with 640X480 pxs and the stats list disturbs enormous.
This and the monster health numbers should be deactivateble by user ... .

Image

:mad: :eek3: :cry:
Is a thief.

waffles
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:17 am
Location: Norway, Pakistan, U.K

...

Post by waffles »

Why do you want to remove this? It's Awesome!
Just increase the resolution to the max and Experience =D
Image Image

Kaal979
Steals others work
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: display problems

Post by Kaal979 »

Are you kidding?
Everybody knows how dramatically resolution decreases performance ... .
Is a thief.

Nelsona
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: display problems

Post by Nelsona »

Very true, using a very high resolution is not an option for some games and consume a lot of memory. Not each player has rich parents to buy strong computers.

Feralidragon
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am

Re: display problems

Post by Feralidragon »

Are we still talking about UT? Personally I run UT at 1024x768, and if there's something I don't have, is rich parents or anyone in the family for that effect, nor a strong computer.

Anyone capable to run UT with that image quality (meaning hardware rendering) can run it at 1024x768 safelly without a single drop in performance.

Again, this is UT, a 11 years old game, even some crappy flash games consume more resources than UT itself. In UT the resolution doesn't have such great impact on UT by the simple reason that UT uses a fraction of GPU power.

The only reason to run that low resolution, is having a notebook with an onboard crappy card, something Kaal obviouslly doesn't have since the image presents a great 3d rendering quality, something I can't get in a laptop of mine at that resolution.

Regarding those lists in the servers, get your resolution higher or live with it, no one is going to change it specially for YOU Kaal. :nono:

Kaal979
Steals others work
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: display problems

Post by Kaal979 »

Well - be it resolution or not
Im probably NOT the only one who dislikes the hud additions in general.
At least they are excluded practice mode ... .

:cry: :o :naughty:
Is a thief.

Feralidragon
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am

Re: display problems

Post by Feralidragon »

Kaal979 wrote: At least they are excluded practice mode ... .
No sh*t... :lol:
Have you considered to educate yourself a bit more relative to how a "game" in general works? It seems you don't have any idea how a game works online, and why you see things online that you don't offline...

Skillz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:59 am
Contact:

Re: display problems

Post by Skillz »

UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.
Like this site? Consider a donation to help with server costs.

Creavion
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:20 pm

Re: display problems

Post by Creavion »

Skillz wrote:UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.
Really, where did you know THAT? First time I hear that. Actually I thought Software Rendering would rely more on CPU while D3D and OpenGL on GPU.

Feralidragon
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am

Re: display problems

Post by Feralidragon »

Creavion wrote:
Skillz wrote:UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.
Really, where did you know THAT? First time I hear that. Actually I thought Software Rendering would rely more on CPU while D3D and OpenGL on GPU.
Indeed. Software Renderer always relies on CPU ONLY (it's the "wtf is a graphic card anyway" mode), while with hardware renderers (such as D3D and OpenGL), there's a part that relies on the GPU, saving CPU resources (which is basically the rendering itself, but after the CPU actually processed all the stuff in view, something which is done just by the GPU and G Memory on later game versions, as static meshes and so).

The higher your resolution is, more processing it will take, but using the same renderer, different resolutions will always rely in the same piece of hardware, they won't alternate between the CPU and GPU.

Post Reply