display problems

General Monster Hunt talk
User avatar
Creavion
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:20 pm

Re: display problems

Post by Creavion »

Hmm maybe I should not believe anything from the start...

User avatar
waffles
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:17 am
Location: Norway, Pakistan, U.K

=D

Post by waffles »

Skillz wrote:UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.
Lol really? We learn something new everyday =D
Image Image

Skillz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:59 am
Contact:

Re: display problems

Post by Skillz »

This might be of some interest to some, granted I believe they are talking about UT2k4.

http://ataricommunity.com/forums/showth ... p?t=371160

On my older computer, it was a Pentium 4 2.4Ghz with a 5900 video card, it I played the game on a lower resolution it wouldn't run very well, but if I cranked the resolution up beyond 1600, it would run silky smooth. This was years ago, back when CRT monitors were the norm
Like this site? Consider a donation to help with server costs.

User avatar
Feralidragon
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am

Re: display problems

Post by Feralidragon »

Well, since I don't know UT's source code, it could be possible they made it so that in case you lowered the resolution too much, it would get that that you're doing it because you don't have a good graphic card and automatically give more work to the CPU.

However, that's very unlikelly (mostly because CRTs with a max of resolution of 1024x768 or 800x600 were common), and the most likelly thing that may be happenning is simple: graphic drivers.

I had a 4xxx series nVidia once (don't remember the exact model, but it was somewhat an acceptable card), and it ran UT very smoothly WITHOUT any drivers installed.
But right when I installed the drivers, UT was simply unplayable (even the mouse in UT main menu didn't work right).
As I reverted back everything fast again, and as I installed again, same slow problem.

Also, there's another thing I noticed, not with this card, but with newer ones: some of them don't like "stone age" settings, like 16bit color mode.
I had already some hangs, graphic corruptions and such by trying to play in 16bit color mode, and as long as I played 32bit color, everything just ran fine.

This could be related to the OS, drivers, both, the graphic hardware design, or another thing, for instance, as you were most likelly attempting a lower resolution than the one you had set at your main desktop, that could be causing those slowdowns at lower resolutions.


Just to say that although that happenned, that doesn't mean that the game was designed to take more CPU at lower resolutions, nor it's supposed to take anyway, it could be a bad driver or something with the OS, or the graphic card hardware design.

Skillz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:59 am
Contact:

Re: display problems

Post by Skillz »

Yea I'm not sure either. Back when I was big into clans and stuff, my clan leader at the time recommended that I up my resolution to the highest my monitor would handle which was 1600x[something] when I was having issues playing during one of our matches, he said it would put more processing on my GPU than my CPU and make the game run smoother. So I did and it worked, game ran super smooth for me. Maybe it was just a coincidence, don't know.
Like this site? Consider a donation to help with server costs.

parkerkevin73
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:30 am

Re: display problems

Post by parkerkevin73 »

i am not playong this game but i know that is the good feature and animated games
there is a good resolvution 3d effect but i heard about my friends that is this game is
a problem in some or one stage the controler is not on user hand in this game every control is going to the system this is not a big problem but some of the stage problem is occured

mariekanter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 11:21 am

Re: display problems

Post by mariekanter »

I also experienced some problems with display. Has anybody found out to solve it? I would be very grateful if somebody can help with it.
Try great casino services

HobsPet
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 9:41 am

Re: display problems

Post by HobsPet »

So have anybody discovered how to solve that problem with display? I also need help with that as I can play properly in UT...
Visit Canada-gambling, where you can read about the best casinons in Canada.

Nelsona
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: display problems

Post by Nelsona »

Cough bump 2017 :cool:
Probably now days we are still using computers manufactured in 2005 and by using new renders we can play properly games at 1024×768 except stupidly loaded maps where even A.I. don't "render" navigation any more because Engine's execution cycles are exhausted (not for CPU), those maps being good at nothing mainly, except forcing engine useless (not CPU - but Engine is out of duty in some internal devs).

Nelsona
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: display problems

Post by Nelsona »

If you think I'm going to destroy my own eyes looking at useless stupid pixels, then you are wrong. I have 40+ and lousy points are the last thing which I'm intended to look at. I will see you at 50 years old what kinda fancy resolution you'll use on devs with display. Wait a bit, time is passing - and it will never return... :naughty:
I was interested at playing MonsterHunt using 800 × 600 but this display seems to get a better performance at 1024 × 768 for some reason. higher resolutions looks boring - I checked them already.

Post Reply