View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:02 am



Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 display problems 
Author Message
Steals others work
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 243
Post display problems
Im playing with 640X480 pxs and the stats list disturbs enormous.
This and the monster health numbers should be deactivateble by user ... .

Image

:mad: :eek3: :cry:

_________________
Is a thief.


Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:21 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 8:17 am
Posts: 277
Location: Norway, Pakistan, U.K
Post ...
Why do you want to remove this? It's Awesome!
Just increase the resolution to the max and Experience =D

_________________
Image Image


Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:53 pm
Profile
Steals others work
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 243
Post Re: display problems
Are you kidding?
Everybody knows how dramatically resolution decreases performance ... .

_________________
Is a thief.


Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:53 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:14 pm
Posts: 298
Post Re: display problems
Very true, using a very high resolution is not an option for some games and consume a lot of memory. Not each player has rich parents to buy strong computers.


Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am
Posts: 72
Post Re: display problems
Are we still talking about UT? Personally I run UT at 1024x768, and if there's something I don't have, is rich parents or anyone in the family for that effect, nor a strong computer.

Anyone capable to run UT with that image quality (meaning hardware rendering) can run it at 1024x768 safelly without a single drop in performance.

Again, this is UT, a 11 years old game, even some crappy flash games consume more resources than UT itself. In UT the resolution doesn't have such great impact on UT by the simple reason that UT uses a fraction of GPU power.

The only reason to run that low resolution, is having a notebook with an onboard crappy card, something Kaal obviouslly doesn't have since the image presents a great 3d rendering quality, something I can't get in a laptop of mine at that resolution.

Regarding those lists in the servers, get your resolution higher or live with it, no one is going to change it specially for YOU Kaal. :nono:

_________________
Image
Nali Weapons 3: http://www.moddb.com/mods/nali-weapons-3


Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:20 pm
Profile
Steals others work
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:03 am
Posts: 243
Post Re: display problems
Well - be it resolution or not
Im probably NOT the only one who dislikes the hud additions in general.
At least they are excluded practice mode ... .

:cry: :o :naughty:

_________________
Is a thief.


Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:40 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am
Posts: 72
Post Re: display problems
Kaal979 wrote:
At least they are excluded practice mode ... .

No sh*t... :lol:
Have you considered to educate yourself a bit more relative to how a "game" in general works? It seems you don't have any idea how a game works online, and why you see things online that you don't offline...

_________________
Image
Nali Weapons 3: http://www.moddb.com/mods/nali-weapons-3


Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:32 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:59 am
Posts: 2587
Post Re: display problems
UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.

_________________
Like this site? Consider a donation to help with server costs.


Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:25 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:20 pm
Posts: 81
Post Re: display problems
Skillz wrote:
UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.

Really, where did you know THAT? First time I hear that. Actually I thought Software Rendering would rely more on CPU while D3D and OpenGL on GPU.


Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:01 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:36 am
Posts: 72
Post Re: display problems
Creavion wrote:
Skillz wrote:
UT relies heavily on the CPU for lower resolutions, if you crank the resolution up much higher it relies more on the GPU.

Really, where did you know THAT? First time I hear that. Actually I thought Software Rendering would rely more on CPU while D3D and OpenGL on GPU.

Indeed. Software Renderer always relies on CPU ONLY (it's the "wtf is a graphic card anyway" mode), while with hardware renderers (such as D3D and OpenGL), there's a part that relies on the GPU, saving CPU resources (which is basically the rendering itself, but after the CPU actually processed all the stuff in view, something which is done just by the GPU and G Memory on later game versions, as static meshes and so).

The higher your resolution is, more processing it will take, but using the same renderer, different resolutions will always rely in the same piece of hardware, they won't alternate between the CPU and GPU.

_________________
Image
Nali Weapons 3: http://www.moddb.com/mods/nali-weapons-3


Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:14 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.

phpBB SEO